理事长寄语

随着中加两国在经贸、文化等领域的交流日益密切,合作范围不断扩大,加拿大人对中国语言和文化的兴趣也越来越浓厚,学习汉语的人数也日益增长。温哥华作为加拿大和中国往来的门户,自然而然涌现出越来越多热爱中国文化和喜欢学习汉语的当地人。

paul

作为加拿大第一所孔子学院,温哥华BCIT孔子学院自二零零五年七月授牌成立以来,一直努力促进汉语教学水平在本省的改善和提高、汉语网考在加拿大 和北美地区的推广、以及中国文化活动在大温哥华地区的组织和开展。我们竭力帮助当地大、中、小学开展中文教学法的交流活动、组织当地汉语教师资格培训、资 助中文教学资料和图书等资源。同时,我们也自行开发了首套适用于北美教育体系的《汉语教学直通车》系列丛书,在很大程度上改善了当地汉语教育的局面,促进 了汉语教学在北美地区的发展。

随着汉语学习人数的日益增长,我们还深刻地意识到汉语水平认证的重要性。我们协助汉办的北美中文考试中心开发了汉语水平考试网考系统,经过 近两年的努力,已经将HSK和YCT汉语水平考试从传统的纸笔方式提升到在线网考的现代化方式,并开始在整个北美地区进行推广和普及工作,翻开了北美汉语 水平考试的新篇章。

在温哥华这片最适宜人类居住的土地上,居住着来自世界各地的移民,越来越多的中国移民使得加拿大多元文化中的中国文化组成部分不断发展壮 大,汉语和中国文化也越来越吸引着当地各族人的关注、了解和学习的兴趣。我们孔院帮助这些中国语言和文化的爱好者们建立起学习中文和了解中国的平台——大 温哥华地区汉语角,有近千的注册会员组织和赞助他们举办各种各样的汉语学习和中国文化活动,满足了他们学习汉语和欣赏中国文化的需要,有益于当地各族群人 民之间的相互了解和友好相处。

我们孔院也经常与政府、行业协会和企业合作,根据当地各界的具体需要,举办各种各样有针对性的讲座,例如,如何与中国的政府和行业部门合 作、如何制定企业在中国的发展策略、如何保护知识产权等等,帮助中加两国政府和企业之间的文化交流和合作。我们也应邀为当地多个大型公司举办商务汉语和商 务礼仪的在职学习培训班,受到这些公司需要与中国打交道的管理和技术人员的热烈欢迎,从这一方面来帮助中加两国企业间的互利互惠和合作发展。

我们欣喜地看到,在孔子学院总部的支持下、在各大、中、小学的配合下、在其他中文教学组织和广大汉语教师的共同协助下,本地中文教育取得了 长足的进步,而且由我院开展的各项汉语活动和考试项目也得到了社会各界的肯定。在未来的日子里,我们温哥华BCIT孔子学院愿继续与各界同仁一起,为北 美、加拿大、尤其是温哥华当地的、需要学习汉语和了解中国文化的各行各业的人士提供更加优质的服务和产品,帮助他们获得更大的成功。

加拿大温哥华BCIT孔子学院理事长

Message from Chairman

While economic and cultural ties between China and Canada become closer, and the scope of cooperation expands, a growing number of Canadians have been showing interest in Chinese language and culture. As the gateway between the two countries, Vancouver, already renowned for its rich Chinese-Canadian culture, has naturally become a city where more and more locals love to learn more of the Chinese language and culture.

paul

Canada’s first Confucius Institute and since its inauguration day in February 2006, the Confucius Institute at BCIT has been working on improving Chinese language teaching within B.C., and to enhance the Chinese iBT testing system in North America, as well as to promote cultural activities in the Greater Vancouver area. We strive to help local elementary and secondary schools organize exchange activities and teachers’ qualification training. We also provide funding to local schools for Chinese teaching materials, books and other resources. In the meantime, we have developed the first multimedia Chinese teaching series for the North American education system, "Chinese Teaching Toolbox", which represents a great addition to the Chinese language education system.

As the number of Chinese learners has increased, we have also realized the importance of Chinese Proficiency certification. We have assisted Hanban’s North American Chinese Test Center in testing the Chinese iBT testing system. After two years of testing and fine-tuning, the HSK and YCT tests have been updated from the traditional paper test to an iBT system. We have kept working together with Hanban’s North American Chinese Test Center on popularizing the new system throughout North America and have opened a new chapter in the Chinese Proficiency Test.

Vancouver, consistently ranked among the world’s “most livable cities”, is chosen as their new home by immigrants from around the world. Among them are increasingly greater numbers of Chinese immigrants, who contribute to the multicultural component of Canadian culture. Concurrently, Chinese language and culture have also started to attract more attention from all ethnic groups. The Confucius Institute at BCIT established the Chinese Language and Culture Club for Chinese Learners of the Greater Vancouver area. Currently, there are over a thousand members registered. We have been sponsoring and organizing a wide variety of events for them to meet their needs to learn and appreciate Chinese language and culture. Through its activities, the club has been conducive to mutual understanding and friendly coexistence among various ethnic groups.

We at the Confucius Institute work with government, industry associations and enterprises regularly, and organize a variety of lectures based on the specific needs of local communities—for example, “How to Work with the Chinese Government and Industry Sectors”, “How to Develop Business Strategies That Work in China”, and “How to Protect Intellectual Property Rights”. We have also designed customized Mandarin courses, for a number of local large companies, that have been very well received by the attendees.

With the support from the Confucius Institute Headquarters and the assistance of local primary and secondary schools, we are delighted to see that local Chinese education has made considerable progress. In the meantime, our efforts have also been acknowledged by the local community. Looking ahead to the future, the Confucius Institute at BCIT would like to continue to work with like-minded organizations and people from all walks of life to provide quality services for learners of Chinese language and culture locally.

 

Chairman, The Advisory Board